McDaniel, Klaffer, Little elected
by Michele Longworth
Apr 09, 2013 | 1731 views | 0 0 comments | 6 6 recommendations | email to a friend | print
download 2013 eleciton chart
By Michele Longworth

Planet Reporter

With the unofficial election results tallied, this spring’s municipal election brought with it no major shake ups, with the incumbents in most contested races winning, and low voter turnout. Out of a total of 10,985 registered voters in Massac County, 2005 ballots were cast.

In Metropolis, incumbent Mayor Billy McDaniel won his third term receiving 679 votes, beating out challengers Julian E. “Butch” Adams, who got 595 votes and Robert McDonald receiving 49. In 2009 McDaniel received a total of 1116.

In the City of Brookport, John Klaffer won the seat of mayor with 167 votes, beating out challengers Scott Martin, with 27 votes; Michael Cate, with 19 votes; and Vincent Scarpino, with three votes. Klaffer has previously served a term a mayor.

In Brookport’s third ward, Oren C. “Tom Cat” Souders won as a write in candidate for alderman with 56 votes, beating incumbent James Burrus, who got 23.

In the City of Metropolis, it was incumbents in all four wards winning over challengers. In ward one, Kim Brown won with 103 votes over Steve Chaney, who received 61. In ward two, William Bill Carrell won another term with 137 votes, beating out challengers Rebecca Lambert, who received 109 votes and Joe Dreblow, who received 91.

In ward three, it was David McManus winning with 175 votes over challenger Don Canada, who got 70 votes. In ward four, incumbent Jerry Mizell won with 342 votes over challengers Anna Owens, who got 148 and David Hearn, receiving 96.

In the Village of Joppa, for the office of village president, candidate Les Little won with 74 votes, beating candidates Eward Kendall, who received 4 votes and John Allen Barr, who got 15.

For the Village of Joppa four-year trustees term, the top-three vote getters were Charles Kimmins, with 62 votes; Gary Sharp, with 49; and Robin Stafford, with 38. For the unexpired two-year term on the village board, candidate Julia Johnson won with 44 votes over Wallace “Sonny” Lyle III, who received 41.

In the Joppa-Maple Grove School board election, the two year unexpired seat was won by Toby Leonard, with 174 votes.

For the four-year term, the top-three vote getters were Stacey Reames, with 171 votes, Gail Stubblefield, with 114 and Charles Johnson, also with 114.

In the election for Massac Unit One School Board, Larry Sommer received 990 votes; Lewis Bowles, 1008 votes; Donald Koch, 919 votes; and Linda Grace, 958.

In the election for Shawnee Community College District 531, Maxine Russell and Stephen Heisner, both won with Russell receiving 1363 votes and Heisner receiving 869.

And, in the election for the school trustee on the Regional Board of Education, it was Todd Sumner receiving 1594 votes and Geneva Elaine Bonifield receiving 557.

Find more about Weather in Metropolis, IL
Sponsored By:
Beaus Blog Logo
Read Beau's Daily Analysis