Municipal election candidates have filed
Jan 16, 2013 | 1682 views | 0 0 comments | 14 14 recommendations | email to a friend | print
With the dust now settled from the November general election, all eyes now are on the municipal election. In this spring’s municipal election, residents in the Village of Joppa and City of Brookport will be voting for candidates seeking election in those governments.

In Brookport, incumbent Mayor Judy Askew is not seeking re-election. The candidates who have filed petitions seeking election as mayor are: John Klaffer, Scott Martin, Michael Cate and Vincent Scarpino.

Other individuals who have filed seeking election to the Brookport City Council are:

In Ward 1, Kathy Tucker.

In Ward 2, Donnie Hogue, who is the incumbent.

In Ward 3, incumbent James Burrus.

In the Village of Joppa, the candidates seeking election as village president are John Allen Barr, Les Little and Edward Kendall. Incumbent Julie Johnson is not seeking re-election to the postion.

For the Village of Joppa Board of Trustees, there are three four-year seats and one two-year seat available. The candidates running for the board of trustees include:

Les Little, Edward Kendall, Gary Sharp, Lawrence Gibbs, Charles Kimmins and Robin Stafford, all seeking election for the four-year term.

The candidates seeking election to the two-year term are Julia Johnson and Wallace (Sonny) Lyle III.

On the Unit One school board, current board members Larry Sommer, Donald Koch and Linda Grace are up for election. As of the filing deadline, the following people have filed seeking election to a four-year term: Larry Sommer, Lewis Bowles, Donald Koch and Linda Grace.

According to Massac Unit One School District, there is also a two-year term available, but no one has filed seeking that position.

In the Joppa-Maple Grove School District, the current board members up for election are Clarence Russell, Gail Stubblefield, Charles Johnson and Stacey Reames, who replaced David Godfrey last fall, and is a two year position.

As of the filing date, the following people have filed seeking election to a four-year term: Gail Stubblefield, Terry Lewis, Charles Johnson, Stacey Reames, Britton Lewis, Chuck Peck

Additionally, Toby Leonard has filed his position seeking election to the two-year position on the board.

Find more about Weather in Metropolis, IL
Sponsored By:
Beaus Blog Logo
Read Beau's Daily Analysis