Local candidates file for spring primary election
Dec 04, 2013 | 1559 views | 0 0 comments | 21 21 recommendations | email to a friend | print
By Michele Longworth

Planet Reporter


Monday marked the filing deadline for candidates who will seek election in next year’s March 18 primary election and in most races for most county-elected positions there is little competition except for the office of county clerk and county treasurer.

For the office of county clerk, the Republican candidates who filed are: Juanita Wedeking, Roger R. Giltner, Sr. and Rebecca Stout Lambert. The only candidate filing for the Constitution Party was Stephen Russell and no candidate filed for the Democratic Party.

The other contested race is for the office of county treasurer, where two candidates on the Republican ticket, Lisa Bremer and Zackary S. Winding will be vying for the Republican nomination. Incumbent Dana (Jones) Angelly, Democrat, is the only candidate on the Democratic ticket to file. There were no candidates filing for the Constitution Party.

For the office of county sheriff, incumbent Ted Holder was the only candidate to file on the Republican ticket. There were no other candidates who filed for the Democrat or Constitution parties.

Voters will also be electing a person for the position of county commissioner. Incumbent, R. Jayson Farmer was the only candidate filing on the Republican ticket and Tim Pearcy was the only candidate to file for the Constitution Party. There were no Democratic Party candidates filing.

Also filing on Monday were the candidates who will seek election as precinct committeemen in various precincts. Those candidates, listed by party are:

• Republican Party - Michael Kerley, Metropolis 2; Jamie L. Fowler, Metropolis 3; Zackary S. Winding, Metropolis 4; Juanita Wedeking, Lincoln 5; Samuel K. Stratemeyer, West Brooklyn 6; Oron C. Souders Jr., East Brooklyn 7; Roger R. Giltner Sr., Jackson 8; Melvin Brugger, Washington 9; Paul Horman, Benton 10; Jamie L. Marley, Hillerman 13; Jeffrey K. Weber, Grant 14; Nathan “Andy” Anderson, Jefferson 16. There were no Republican candidates filing for precincts Metropolis 1, George’s Creek 11, Franklin 15 or Adkins 17.

• Constitution Party - Tim Pearcy, George’s Creek 11; and Stephen Russell, Grant 14. There were no other candidates filing in the other precincts.

• Democratic Party - Mary Ruth Brannon, Franklin 15. There were no other candidates filing in any other precincts.

Find more about Weather in Metropolis, IL
Sponsored By:
Beaus Blog Logo
Read Beau's Daily Analysis