All South golf teams announced
by Galen Shelton
Jan 08, 2014 | 1193 views | 0 0 comments | 28 28 recommendations | email to a friend | print
By Galen Shelton

Planet Sports

The All South Golf Teams were recently released, and Massac County was once again well represented on both the boys and girls teams.

Ali Eickholz, Paige Ellerbusch and Brittany Reynolds were named to the Class A honors squad.

Massac County and state champion Nashville both placed three girls on the honorary team.

The Lady Hornettes’ Shawn Rennegarbe was named the Player of the Year and Nashville coach Doug Kell was named the Coach of the Year after guiding his team to their first state title.

On the boys side, Massac’s brothers Zach and Brock Burnham were both named to the honorary roster for Class AA teams.

Another feather in the cap of the Patriots golf program was the naming of Gary Adkins as the Class AA Coach of the Year.

Zach Burnham capped off a fine high school career with this last honor and Brock would appear to be on the threshold of an equally distinctive prep career with three more years of eligibility.

For Adkins the honor was a complete surprise.

“I had no idea they would choose a first-year coach,” he said. “I hadn’t given it any thought until (Massac Unit One Superintendent Bill) Hatfield called me Sunday morning. It was quite a surprise.”
Find more about Weather in Metropolis, IL
Sponsored By:
Beaus Blog Logo
Read Beau's Daily Analysis