Murray State University celebrates commencement

MURRAY, Ky. — Murray State University hosted in-person commencement ceremonies for May and August 2021 graduates, as well as 2020 graduates, May 7-8 at the CFSB Center.

On May 7, the ceremony for masters, specialist and doctoral graduates took place, while on May 8, three ceremonies were held for undergraduates.

A total of 1464 degree applicants comprised this spring’s graduating class of degree applicants from May and August, including doctoral, specialist, master’s, baccalaureate and associate degrees. A total of 31 states and 22 countries were represented.

Graduates from Massac County were:

• Brooke Atwell with a BSB in Business Administration;

• Beth Birkner with a BS in Middle School Education;

• Alyssa Castleman with a BS in Learning & Behavior Disorders;

• Kristina Henley Colley with a DNP in Nursing;

• Laken Cummins with a MS in Speech/Language Pathology;

• Emery Ginger with a MS in Engineering Management;

• Karly Hankins with a BSN in Nursing;

• Carlie Haverkamp with a MA in History;

• Camela Horman with a BS in Public & Community Health;

• Charles May with a MA in English;

• Hannah Mitchell with a BS in Psychology;

• Allison Park with a MBA in Business Administration;

• Madison Penrod with a BS in Elementary Education;

• Donna Price with a BSW in Social Work;

• Brian Proctor with a BIS in Integrated Studies;

• Eli Rose with a MS in Occupational Safety & Health;

• Karsyn Shoulta with a BS in Middle School Education;

• Dillon Stoner with a MS in Occupational Safety & Health;

• Wesley Suttles with a BS Occupational Safety & Health;

• Caroline Thompson with a BS in Psychology;

• Kathey Walquist with a MA in Teacher Leader;

• Joshua Wright with a BIS in Integrated Studies; and

• Hannah Wrye with a BS in Middle School Education.

Murray State University announces spring 2021 Dean’s List

MURRAY, Ky. — Several students from The Metropolis Planet coverage area have been named to the spring 2021 Dean’s List at Murray State University.

They are:

• Belknap — Bree Rushing.

• Brookport — Emma Nelson.

• Karnak — Hannah Mitchell.

• Metropolis — Caitie Easter, Mackenzie Easter, Karly Hankins, Gavin Hayes, Cami Horman, Natalie Hosman, Brenna Jackson, Rebecca Kindhart, Paige Medley, Campbell Neely, Donna Price, Maci Steele, Hadley Stephens, Nancy Sutton and Ellie Weber.

Belmont University announces Dean’s List

NASHVILLE, Tenn. — Danielle Carnes and Dustin Davis, both of Metropolis, are among the students who achieved the Dean’s List at Belmont University for the Spring 2021 semester.

Eligibility is based on a minimum course load of 12 hours (exclusive of audit and pass/fail courses this semester) and a quality grade point average of 3.5 with no grade below a C (inclusive of audit, pass/fail courses and zero-credit courses).

Approximately 53% of Belmont’s 6170 undergraduate students qualified for the Spring 2021 Dean’s List.

“Students achieving the Dean’s List recognition at Belmont have clearly demonstrated enormous commitment to their educational endeavors — they have invested deeply in their studies and in their future,” Belmont Provost Dr. Thomas Burns said. “We are happy to celebrate their success and know that their continued, consistent and comprehensive dedication to their academic work will equip them to embrace future opportunities to engage and transform our world.”

University of Mississippi announces Chancellor’s Honor Roll

OXFORD, Miss. — The University of Mississippi recently announced students named to the Spring 2021 Honor Roll lists, including Chancellor’s Honor Roll.

Brittany Danielle Deming, of Metropolis, was among those named to the Chancellor’s Honor Roll, which is reserved for students who earn a semester GPA of 3.75-4.00.

“Our students on the Chancellor’s Honor Roll are among the best and brightest at the University of Mississippi,” said Chancellor Glenn Boyce. “I commend them for their hard work and dedication resulting in their incredible academic achievements and this well-deserved honor.”

In order to be eligible for honor roll designation, a student must have completed at least 12 graded hours for the semester and may not be on academic probation during the semester.

Fiorentini named to Union University dean’s list

JACKSON, Tenn. — Collin Fiorentini, of Metropolis, has been named to the Union University dean’s list for the spring 2021 semester.

The dean’s list includes full-time students who achieve a 3.5 grade point average or higher on a 4-point scale.

Founded in 1823 and affiliated with the Tennessee Baptist Convention, Union is characterized by quality Christ-centered teaching and learning. Union offers liberal arts training in more than 100 majors and programs of study along with professional programs in business, education and nursing. About 3000 students are currently enrolled.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.