Election Image

Staff Report

Massac County Clerk Hailey Miles has announced Sept. 3 was the first day to circulate nomination papers for established party candidates -- except established party presidential, delegates and alternate delegates.

The filing period is Monday, Nov. 25 through Monday, Dec. 2. The deadline to file is Dec. 2 at 5 p.m.

According to Miles, the municipal elections are always on odd years, so the next municipal election will be in the spring of 2021, which will include the mayoral races.

Massac County Circuit Cerk Sandra Reipe ran in 2018 to fill an unexpired term, will run in 2020. Newly appointed Massac County Sheriff Chad Kaylor will have to run in 2020 as well, to fill the unexpired term of former Sheriff Ted Holder and then again in 2022.

The other local county offices which will be nominated/elected are:

• Massac County Coroner, currently held by Mike Hillebrand.

• Massac County State's Attorney, currently held by Josh Stratemeyer

• And, Massac County County Commissioner, currently held by Jayson Farmer. The commissioners' terms are for six years.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.