The Southern Illinois Future Teachers Coalition has been recognized with the Award of Special Recognition in the Team category through the Those Who Excel and Teacher of the Year program from the Illinois State Board of Education. ISBE received a record number of nominations and applications.

SIFTC is a regional collaborative partnership working to address the teacher shortage that is being experienced in the state and nationally with targeted programming at the local level in southern Illinois. The SIFTC partnership is between John A. Logan College, Shawnee Community College, Southern Illinois University Carbondale, the Illinois State Board of Education and 14 southern Illinois high schools — Anna-Jonesboro (represented by Lindsey Sommer), Carterville (Noah Coleman and Kaci Clark), Century (Ashley Dexter), Cobden (Karen Engelmann), Dongola (Lorna Ferguson), Frankfort (Amanda Niehbch), Herrin (Amber George and Amanda Hickman), Johnston City (Ryan Shick), Joppa (Ethan May), Marion (Tina Barger and Deanna Hudgens), Massac (Tony Cardon), Meridian (Marleis Trover and Alex Washam), Shawnee (Karen Shafer and Beth Marks) and Vienna (Leslie Bradley).

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.